Qualifications: Bachelor of Veterinary Science (BVSc)

Lee grew up on a cattle property in Cloncurry QLD. She was surrounded by dogs and horses and enjoyed spending time in nature. She attended high school in Townsville as a boarder, and then returned to Cloncurry to work a few different jobs and explore her options. Although she was intrigued with biology and the science of how things work, Lee didn’t know at that point that she wanted to be a vet.

At 23, Lee enrolled in Veterinary Science at the University of Queensland and graduated in 1999. She had a job at a mixed practice in Rockhampton (large and small animals) and did some locum work at a small animal clinic in Mt Isa. In December 2003, Lee took maternity leave. The vet practice where she’d been working had recently been sold, so instead of returning Lee decided to start her own business—an equine breeding centre—in 2004. She continued to work a gruelling schedule while simultaneously raising her young children. So, after re-evaluating her career, Lee decided to close the business in 2018.

In December 2018, Lee started work at Central Queensland University as a part-time University Veterinarian and Animal Welfare Officer. By this time, Lee was studying for a Masters of Education and rediscovered her love of veterinary medicine. Having known Dr Jocelyn for years, she approached her for a job and started work at HSVS in September 2021.

“I love being a veterinary surgeon because I like knowing that I can make a difference. I enjoy the challenge of working in science and biology, and the team is very welcoming and easy to work with. It was wonderful to see someone like Jocelyn thinking outside the box and building a team of part-time vets while still supporting family responsibilities. I was so grateful for the opportunity.”

Lee brings maturity, wisdom, and humour to her role, and we are thrilled to have her on board.

Interests/Hobbies: Lee and her family have a 160-acre property at Stanwell where she is working on renovating some spare accommodation for family visits. She loves sitting on the verandah with a cuppa and reading a good book with her dog close by. She also practices karate and likes to go camping on the local islands with her family.

Pets: Lee is Mum to a 5-year-old German Shepherd called Enzie. Enzie is very smoochy and loves to put her head on Lee’s lap.